Cowardly Lion

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Cowardly Lion

Post  Elmoslayer on Mon Nov 23, 2009 4:48 pm

I have real trouble working up the courage to do things.

Even when I know that if I do it it'll be good for me, or if its something as simple as talking to somebody that I haven't met before or doing a piece of schoolwork that I know uses skills I'm not good at (eg. essays), I really cant seem to man up enough to do it. I just keep thinking of how it could all go wrong, and that I'll fail and screw it up.

I'm sitting here right now trying to work up the courage to do something I know will help me but I just can't do it, and I've been trying to do it all week.

How can I get myself to do it?! I need to grow a pair!

Elmoslayer

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Cowardly Lion

Post  Skyangel on Tue Nov 24, 2009 12:39 pm

It's funny, I was talking to a 48yr old woman yesterday who is extremely well educated and intelligent and yet suffers from the same lack of confidence as you do in matters like this. I was just the same at your age. I hated using the phone even if it was just to phone up my aunt and thank her for my birthday card for example. Just because I felt I was expected to have a conversation with her and pictured myself drying up on the phone, giving her the impression that I was either totally stupid or rude. Most often though I found the reality was never as scary as my fears once I'd taken the plunge.The best way really to overcome this is just to plunge in and take it as it comes without thinking about it. The more you examine the possible outcomes and reactions the harder it becomes to make that move. Some things do require bit of aforethought before others if you need to have certain answers to hand, but the truth is the more often you do something the easier it gets and with that comes confidence.